New Music – What we’ve been loving – July

New Music – What we’ve been loving – July

A&A rounds up the new music that has been getting the most listening time through the sound system in the past 4 weeks.


St. Vincent – New York

St. Vincent A.K.A Annie Clark is currently in the studio recording, what we hope is the follow up to 2015’s self-titled album. As a taster, she released ‘New York’ a few weeks back. It’s been described as a ballad by many but how many ballads would contain lines such as “You’re the only mother fucker in this city who can handle me” hardly Adele! It is a more chilled out track that anything on the aforementioned ‘St Vincent’ but I love it and it’s been a constant on the A&A speakers. The ‘Fear The Future’ tour comes to the UK in October.

Confidence Man – Boyfriend (Repeat)

When this dropped a couple of weeks ago I instantly loved it. Between this and Parcels (see late) we have the 2 songs of the summer. Confidence Man hail from Brisbane, Austrailia and were over in the UK at The Great Escape where queues were out the door to see them so unfortunately, I didn’t get in. Here is hoping for a tour soon. Since it’s release ‘Boyfriend (Repeat) has gone on to be Record Of The Week on Virgin Radio UK.

Arcade Fire – Everything Now

I really could have chosen any one of the 4 tracks Arcade Fire have teased from new album ‘Everything Now’ out on 28th July. There always something special about an Arcade Fire release. You just know they are consistently good and judging by the tracks dripped here then this album will be no different. They have also announced dates for UK & Ireland for April 2018 with dates in Dublin, Manchester, London, Birmingham & Glasgow.

Parcels – Overnight

Along with Confidence Man, Parcels have undoubtedly produced one of the tunes of the summer with ‘Overnight’ Do you think it sounds a bit familiar? A little bit like Daft Punk? That’s because Parcels, who are from Austrailia happened to bump into Daft Punk in a Paris nightclub, struck a friendship with the duo and Daft Punk ended up producing this track. If forthcoming releases from Parcels are like this then I am all for it.

Vessels ft Wayne Coyne – Defect The Light.

Leeds electronic outfit Vessels first came to my attention in 2015 when they were announced to play Electric Fields that year. ‘Elliptic’ quickly became one of the most played songs on my radio show at the time and the album ‘Dilate’ was one of my favourites in 2015. Fast forward 2 years and Vessel have enlisted a music A-List to feature on their next album ‘The Great Distraction’ due for release on 29th September. John Grant, Django Django, Sky Larkin & Sleater Kinney all feature on up coming track but the stand out for me has to be getting Wayne Coyne from The Flaming Lips to guest on this track. I can’t wait to hear the full album.

If you like to hear the very best in new music from around the world then check out my newest podcast Access All Areas recorded at Radio Summerhall.




Music Promoter, Blogger, Podcaster. Marketing & Social Media Manager #ICantDanceButImEnthusiastic